Maximum decision time and AI bots

Furan

Hello everybody,

I just stumbled on articles about poker AI bots. And this made me think of one cash game room I was playing yesterday because one of the player was always using the maximum decision time in every hand before doing anything, whether it was folding, calling or raising, before or after flop. As I am new to online poker I wonder if this is a common behavior at tables (maybe to have a psychological impact ?) or if this is suspect ?

Hi @Furan and welcome to the community. 

Some players do indeed attempt to try to tilt their opponents, don't let it bother you and play at your own speed, within reason. Don't be tempted to slow down yourself, if you do you might eventually get the whole table doing the same. If it really does tilt you leave that table. It's unlikely bots, if any, would be programmed to take all that time, surely they are designed to take as much money as possible in the shortest time possible.

• Like 2

"It turns out that 75% of all poker players think they play better than the other 75%."     image.png.99a4e82708d54abfc527324e8836768e.png

Welcome to the community, @Furan!

As you speculate yourself and @GR1ZZL3R mentions above, it will occasionally be used by players to try and tilt the opponents. It could also be that one is simply playing a few too many tables and just needs max time to be able to act on all tables.

If someone is violating the T&C's by cheating, it'd be quite stupid to deviate in behavior from the general pool 🙂 

• Like 1

Check the latest poker release notes. Have a look at our poker promotions

Thank you for your answers @GR1ZZL3R and @Stubbe-Unibet , it makes sense and I know what to expect now !

13 hours ago, GR1ZZL3R said:

Don't be tempted to slow down yourself, if you do you might eventually get the whole table doing the same.

And I am glad you mentioned that because I was starting to wonder if I should intentionally play more slowly.

• Like 2